2004-03-15 - 10:35 a.m.

My weekend and movie critic.
Wow I went three days and no entry. I guess it is about time. So how was my weekend you ask? Well let me tell you.

My weekend was pretty busy, did running around on Sat to get ready for our trip, we leave this friday for Toronto and then fly out early sat morning. Sat we went out for lunch, the late in the day my friends called and asked if we wanted to go out for dinner and a movie with them. We had already eaten out that day but we dont get to go out often with our friends so what the heck.

We had a nice dinner at East Side Mario's and then off to a late movie. Ok so you ask what movie did you guys see? Yes we went and saw Passion of the Christ. How was it? you ask. Well let me tell you.

We arrive at the theatre and when we buy our tickets there is a sign that says this movie contains EXTREME BRUTALITY. So I think I have seen some pretty gory movies, I don't react tooooo much to blood and gore. So we go and it starts off not to bad. Then it gets worse and at the high point of the movie I leaned over to THE MAN and told him I wasn't feeling good and I thought I was going to pass out. I kept asking for his drink, I was dizzy, I was sweating and i was starting to have black dots cross infront of my eyes and my ears were ringing. I have passed out before and these are all signs of fainting. I had to close my eyes put my head back and try to block everything out. I would have left the theatre but we were up neat the top and I was afraid of falling down the stairs. I thought I was safer where I was and to just stay seated. My friend was crying through out the movie and well THE MAN says he started to feel a little queezy as well.

Don't get me wrong the movie in my opinion was done very well. I can also se why other religions are getting upset about it. The movie, I would have to say is very accurate to the catholic (roman catholic)bible. Realistically speaking I think it was accurate and well done. We don't know exactly what happened back then but I think what is more horrific is that knowing that is was most like and highly probable that what happened in the movie is probably closer to the truth then we would like to believe.

Growing up I was taught about Jesus, his teachings, his birth and his death. And although I was taught that he died and was crucified and that is was horrible I was never and never thought it could be as bad as it was portrayed in the movie.

If you think about it, humanity was much more brutal then then now. Think how people would cheer and gawk during hangings and suck even less then 200 years ago so what makes us think that 2000 years ago would be any different, when in fact it would most likely be much much worse.

To actually think that Jesus or anyone had to endure what he saw on the movie screen even one ounce of what was seen on the movie screen would be enough to think how could we do that to one of our fellow man.

I can say that in 2000 years we have come a long way but not nearly enough. If we can still declare war, drop bombs, fly planes into buildings, and create mass destruction and pain for others then we really haven't come very far. We are torturing others in a different form, it just might not be in the form a cane or flesh ripping whip.

Anyhow you can tell is was distrubed and touched by the movie. I would suggest people should see it, but be prepared be very prepared, it is not an easy thing to witness.

After our experience with the movie we were not able to sleep well saturday night and had to be up early Sunday to drive to spencerville to visit with THE MAN's family.

This is the first time I have met his entire family, I have met his mom briefly in the past but the first time for his dad and brother with his wife and two kids. It was a nice time. His family is so nice, warm and friendly. I felt like I fit in right away. Amazingly enough I felt more comfortable with THE MAN's family then I ever did with my ex's compare that to one visit to 6 years worth of visits.

Even after 6 years of visiting my ex's family I never felt comfortable to call my ex's parents by their first names. After being at THE MAN's family's house for 3 hours I was able to call them by their first names go figure.

Anyways I should get going lots to do cleaning and packing woohoo. Talk to you guys later.

Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland