2004-03-18 - 9:23 a.m.

What kind of society we live in!
Ok so some of you are asking yourself. HUH? This girl is whacked. Let me explain what todays entry is about.

I was listening to the news this morning in the car when I heard the headline say "Stay tuned for the latest Leafs jersey controversy" I am a Toronto Maple Leafs fan living in Ottawa home of the Senators.

For people out there who are not aware of this Ottawa and Toronto have a rivalry. They are probably the two teams with more annomosity between the two in any pro sport league. When Toronto visits Ottawa the stands are packed with leafs fans. Ottawa was one of the original NHL teams along with the Leafs but wayyyyyyyy back Ottawa closed up shop and the Leafs continued to reign. 11 years ago the Sens became a new expansion team. The greatest rivalry in sports history was born.

Since then the Leafs and the Sens have gone head to head in the playoffs with the Leafs allimenating the sens in the first or second round of the play offs. The Leafs fans grew in numbers over the years and today when attending a leafs sens game in ottawa you will find that the sens leafs fan ratio is 50/50 if not 60/40 for the leafs. This has made the two teams bitter enemies. The mayors of both Toronto and Ottawa have made bets and fortunately the leafs win every time.

So on my way out this morning I hear on the radio that now the mayor of ottawa has felt it necessary to BAN leaf jerseys, hats or anything else that a leaf fan would carry to a game.

Yep you read correctly the mayor BANNED Toronto maple Leafs memorabilia from the Ottawa Corel Centre. If you are caught with a Leafs Jersey you will have to pay a fine. For now it a charitable DONATION he says. My first comment is it isnt a donation if youare made to do it. The mayor stated on the radio that the idea was for the idea that if they embarrased the leaf fans enough they wouldnt be a leaf fan on the sens home turf. This sort of action just frustrates me to no end. How does being mayor give him the right to dictate to me who I can and can not cheer for.

As a result I took my frustration and put it into action. Not like it will make a difference but I must voice my opinion otherwise he would think he won. So I emailed the mayor. The email I sent is as follows.

Bob Chiarelli

I don�t know what kind of society we live in when politicians start dictating as to which teams you should cheer for. Freedom of self expression is one of our greatest qualities. Many people come from Toronto to see the rivalry between Ottawa and Toronto. They are bringing money into our city. Whether it is to buy souvenirs or going to bars, restaurants and hotels. They are bringing money to our city which I think we should be grateful.

I was not born in Ottawa; I was born and raised in Sault Ste Marie. I was raised as a Toronto fan. Just because I move to a city that has its own team does not automatically mean I must convert. You mentioned this morning on the radio that �those people� the ones wearing the Toronto jersey�s in stands and not cheering for the home team are the same people who use the recreational facilities and public facilities, as if the public is doing us a favour, when in fact we are also �those people� who are paying taxes to use all those very same facilities that you are insinuating that we should not have a right to, because we are Toronto fans.

I think this ridiculous idea of penalizing Toronto fans in the stands will only backfire. You truly do not understand what it means to be a die hard fan. To be faced with this stupidity will only make the Toronto fans stronger in voice. It will not deter us. I know I will still attend the hockey games with my jersey on and Toronto flag waving and my voice louder then ever. I will gladly pay your retribution. This is a free country and I will still cheer for whoever I wish.

I think taking measures like the one you are taking is just one step closer to a dictatorship government. You say what, when and where and expect us to follow. Well us Toronto fans will do no such thing.

Barbara Francisco

Toronto Fan Always

Just look for the Leafs license plate���Oh wait you might have a hard time since there are so many of us on the road.



Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland