2004-05-02 - 11:55 a.m.

Facts of Gastric Bypass Surgery
A few days has past since I updated. I have been busy going to physiotherapy for my back and trying to get things done around the house. I really have not been on that much lately and when I am it is to play my stupid game. Its so addictive, before I know it I will be playing for a few hours.

So I have been doing more research on that gastric Bypass surgery here are some of the things I have found out.

BENEFITS:

-Loose weight quickly for 18-24 months

-Maintain long-termweight loss of approximately 100lbs.

-Improves most Obese-related problems

RISKS

-10-20% require follow-up operations IE hernia

-there is a possibility of breakdown of the staple line

-May develop gallstones

-30% develop mineral and vitamin deficiencies

GENERAL FACTS

-3-4 day hospital stay

-must follow diet restrictions

-for few weeks could feel uncomfortable full after eating

-stomach will be tender

-6-8 weeks before complex carbs and protein are digested without vomiting

-difficult for large amounts of fat alcohol and sugar to be digested

-lose 10lbs per month/stable weight approximately 18 months after surgery

SO those are some basics. As I find more info I will update this page so keep chekcing back to this entry. If anyone has had this surgery please leave me a note. If anyone is on a waiting list to have this surgery completed please leave me a note andin general if anyone is interestd in talking about this subject....then you guessed it leave me a note.



Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland