2006-01-04 - 6:36 p.m.

Notes they are WONDERFUL I love getting them.
I have had some really nice Notes left for me and they make me smile. I wanted to address one note cause it got me thinking and maybe what I have written in my previous entry came out wrong.

I notice things such as fitting in seats in restaurants, booths, going through turn styles, even the seats at school and yes even my own computer chair. I notice that clothes fit better and I notice that I am not out of breath after going from the basement to my main floor. I can even do three flights of stairs at school without much effort. That is a HUGE improvement. I have noticed that my back problems have lessened, the chronic pain is not so chronic although I still have a few bad days here and there but they are no where near as bad as they once were. I even notice a physical difference when I look at some pictures but not toooo often.

Psychologists say it takes several years for the mental image of yourself to change after losing a large amount of weight. This I know is true because when I look down and look at myself I don't think I see a difference. When I look in the mirror I don't see the difference. I usually just think I have such a long way to go although I know I have already come a long way. This distance I would never have been able to achieve had it not been for the surgery so for that I am thankful and I work hard every day to eat right and try to get as much exercise as possible.

What I am saying is that to lose 97 pounds you would think someone would be skin and bones and that I sure am not. Although there are differences they are not as dramatic as I thought they would be. But then that is my own mental self image and something that will take a lot of work and practice to change. Losing weight is not all about the physical change but the mental change as well and this is something that I am really just starting to understand.

I hope this clarified things. I know I am healthier and I know I am smaller but my mental picture of myself has not changed yet and that is something that I am working on. Hence why I have been taking so many pictures. I knew that it would be hard for me to change that mental picture so a couple times a week I review the pictures and I practice looking and recognizing the differences. the funny thing is that somedays I recognize those differences and think WOW and other days its like "that's not such a big change" and yet I KNOW it is. It is really amazing how our self image and self perception can change from day to day.

Thanks everyone for the words of encouragement and the interest you have all shown. I don't often post notes but I do read and read often. So although I may not comment just know that if you are on my buddy list I definately keep up to date on your writtings.

Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland