2006-04-27 - 6:54 a.m.

It's almost over!
This semester is coming to an end. Tomorrow is my last day of the semester. Today I had 3 exams and tomorrow I have 2 exams and a presentation to give. I have two official marks back out of 8 classes. My over all mark in developmental psych was 84% and my overall mark in Mental Health was 92% so I can not complain about that.

This past week has been very stressful with all the studying and last minute school stuff but there has been lots that has been going on at school besides learning and tests. I just can not believe how unethical and well I just don't have the words to describe it. Let me give some background.

Teacher gives us a large project, no ruberic but does give us an outline of everything that our project must contain. So after months of working on it we hand it in, the only group who has managed to hand it in on time. Then he uses our project to tell the rest of the class what NOT to do in their assignment. So we get penalized with marks and the other groups get an adavantage because now they know what NOT to do and will ensure that they get a better mark. On top of which our group was the only one that handed the project in on time. Then we come to find out that for our second project which was fundraising there was a group that did not raise a single cent for their project. It was required to raise $450 and submit a write up. The other group submitted no write up and no money, they simply just didn't do the work. We come to find out that the teacher actually asked another student if she would be willing to put the other group member's names on her work. Of course she said no but how unethical is that. This is also the same teacher who has not taught us a single thing. I have walked away from that class not having learned one thing. Then to top everything off, last week he posted our final exam question and we had a choice to do one of two questions essay. It was open book and we had a week to prepare. We asked if instead of writing it out at home and then going to class and rewritting it if it would be possible just to type it up at home and hand it in. This way it saves us time that we so desperatly need. His answer was no that he didn't want us to use other resources and that he wanted it written while in class. Ok so fine most of us did our essay at home and then went to class and simply copied word for word what we had during the exam time. However there was two people missing from our class. I came to find out that about 4 weeks ago when the teacher posted last years exam question for us to get a feel for what he was looking for one of the students thought it was the actual exam and then did it 4 weeks ago typed with nice cover page and all. He ACCEPTED this as her exam and she didn't have to write it today. SO not only did she not do the same exam question, but she got to do it in a relaxed atmosphere without the pressure of other exams, also she has less presure for these other exams becuase she didn't have to worry about it. Again this seems unfair and unethical. Then we get marks back and some of us get A's B's C's and some of the other people get 75% 80% or so, so where is the consistency there. There is a big difference between 80% and an A. Then the second person who did not write with us today, her first language is not english and we know that she has had a habit of cheating on tests. We have caught her, we also know that she pays people to write her essays for her, well apparently she got to write her essay ahead of time and hand it in. We as a group are requesting an investigation. This is not fare. I should also mention that these students who seem to have had special treatment are also immigrants, should also mention that the teacher himself is also an immigrant. I don't but I see a correlation here. Don't get me wrong I have nothing against immigrants, infact I did a whole 80 page proposal on works shops for immigrants, and some of the people in my class who are immigrants are some of the nicest people but I just can't help but wonder if I was in the same shoes as one of the other students who have obviously gotten special treatment if I woudl have had the same special treatment. I kind of think I wouldn't have.

Needless to say our class is taking action and writting a letter to the director of the course and addressing it to the dean of the program and we will be going to our legal representative at the school to make sure that something is done with this teacher. Did I mention that he teaches ethics? How unethical is he. Its funny that the college has the most unorganized individual teach us community development and organization. Go figure. Something will be done and many of us have it out for him now and will not rest until someething is done. We are not just advocating for excellent marks but we are also advocating for the students that are coming behind us. SOmething needs to be done and since we are social workers it might as well be us. We might as well put to practice everything we have been taught.

On another note my one teacher that I love sooooo much, she is amazing told me today that I was an inspiration and that she admired me. She gave me a huge hug and asked if I would be willing to lecture one of her classes next semester in Addictions. I had talked with her and discussed how important FOOD ADDICTIONS is and that I was disappointed that we learned about alcohol and drug addictions and discussed a little about gambling shopping and eating disorders but didn't really discuss food addictions. She knows my history, she knows that although I have never been diagnosed with a food addiction I am self proclaimed food addict and it is an everyday struggle. She wants me to come in and give my perspective. I told her I would love to and that I was really excited to do that. Although I have a presentation to do tomorrow that I am overly nervous about I would feel right at home doing a lecture on food addictions and even gastric bypass, it is a passion of mine and something I am very familar with.

Anyways I guess I have rambled long enough, I just thought I needed to vent, I am highly emotional tonight crying over anything and everything and even nothing at times. I think it is the stress that I am under. Tomorrow will be better. Anyways I'll keep everyone posted as to how well I do with the rest of my marks.

Oh by the way for anyone that likes a good read. Devinci Code is amazing.

Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland