2007-01-12 - 3:33 p.m.

Since Jan 3
I am feeling much better. Not 100% but better. Today I was able to shower and get dressed on my own. WOOHOO....mom also removed a total of 32 staples so far still about a million to go or atleast it feels like it. My arms are swollen and of course tender. I do not regret having the procedure but for people out there please be aware that it is difficult and painful. I know it is worth it for me in the end. So now that I have more time here is what and how things happened.

On January 3rd I arrived at the Dr's clinic at 10am surgery was supposed to be at 11 am things were running late. He had a procedure before me. I was taken up to the room at 1130am and got into a gown and a robe and then I was allowed to lay down and the doctor came in to see me. He said it would be a little while but not long. He asked how I was and checked me over he gave me two blankets and wanted to keep me toasty warm. He left and then came back a little while later and drew with black magic marker all over my skin. I couldn't make anything out didn't know what each line meant but so long as he did that was all that mattered. I got dressed and layed back down. Then the anesthesiologist came in and asked me some questions explained what he was going to do and then left. Then the nurse came in and took me to the OR room. They had me lay down on the OR table and the anesthesiologist put in the IV....I then sat up while one of the nurses washed me with an antiseptic pink liquid from chin to waist front and back chest, back, arms and belly....I then carefully layed back touching nothing. I was covered with a warming blanket from the waist down and a steril drop cloth from the waist up. A blood pressure cuff was put on my calf as they would not be able to use my arms. I had these neat little cuffs around my wrist which covered my wrist and hands as they were not sterile.

The anesthesiologist told me to breath they were just giving me oxygen then he said he was going to give me some meds that would soon make me feel floaty. I never felt floaty I fell asleep before that even happened. :( The next thing I knew I was waking up in recovery and my arms felt like they were on fire. But more importantly was the pain alerting me to the need to having to pee....Yes that trumpted the pain of the surgery. They scooted a bed pan under me but for the life of me I could not go....You see I have this aversion to peeing when people are near. I can not even use a public restroom if other people are there. Anyways I waited as long as I could and still in my haze and stupore the nurse took me to the washroom where OMG I felt so much better until my walk back when all of a sudden I felt nauseas...I got all clammy and hardly made it back to bed before my ears started to ring and I almost passed out. This was my fear waking up after surgery and the anesthesiologist said he would make sure he would give me drugs so that wouldn't happen. It didn't happen the way it usually does but it hit me when I went to the washroom. The nurse gave me some meds as soon as I was back on the bed and I felt much much better. after 3 hours in recovery the nurse called THE MAN who was actually already there in the waiting room to let him know he could come and get me.

The nurse helped me get dressed and I went home to bed. Actually THE MAN made me some pea soup....and I relaxed on the layzboy chair with my meds. That is where I slept for the next 6 nights.

This past Tuesday was my follow-up. The dr removed my drain tubes which was the part of the procedure I was fearing most. You see when I had reconstruction on my arm 8 or so years ago I had a drain tube and thought I was going to die when the doctor pulled it out. Amazingly enough it wasn't like that this time around. I wouldn't say it was pleasant and it wasn't pain free but it definately was not excruciating like I imagined. People said that it was probably because for orthopedic procedures the draintube is deeper and usually into the bone where this was more on the surface. I will post more pics shortly I have nothing new to really share. Anyways that was what happened.

Today I am making up my resume packages and going to hand them out on Monday. As many are aware I am now back in my hometown recooperating thought that since I had to be off work for a month I might as well use this time to visit family. And since we are thinking about moving back to my hometown perhaps I should send out some resume's. I am also going to look at a house tonight that I have had my eyes on for the past couple months. THE MAN likes the pictures of this house that we have see. He doesn't want me to pressure him but I wanted to see it so that I would know either I like it or I don't and if I don't I wouldn't have to wonder anymore. If that makes sense to people. Anyways I need to go. We are leaving here soon to go see the house and then coming home and getting ready to go to a hockey game tonight. Supposed to be a good game.

Ciao



Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland