2008-11-19 - 7:30 p.m.

-
Ok so as promised here are some of the details.

THE MAN and I got married in Ottawa and since we currently live in Sault Ste Marie it was very tricky to plan our wedding. Much of it had to be planned via phone and internet. We booked the venue sight unseen. We booked the food never having had a tasting, we booked our minister never having spoken to her, we booked the dj/photographer/videographer without ever having met them and seeing their work. When we were in Ottawa in May we went to the venue to scope it out and see what we had booked and what we had to work with. It wasn't so bad. The venue was in the country, its hard to explain but it is a petting zoo/slaughter house/bed and breakfast. It was a very nice place that offered rooms for us and our guests to stay, it had a hall for us to have the reception in and there were beautiful gardens for the wedding unfortunately it was too cold that day so we had it in the hall where there was a fireplace and it was very nice. We also had a harpist for the ceremony which was also very beautiful.

All our decorations we had to transport 9 hours, my parents brought my dress and everything for the wedding prep went 100% as planned.

The cake was A+
Minister A+
harpist A+
Decorations A++
Food AAAA++++++
Dress A+++++
Hall B+++ A few things I wish were different but not much
DJ A+++
Videographer not video yet but sure it turned out great
Photos No pics yet coming this week but sure they turned out great.

I had a muslim maid of honor which added a bit of a different feel for my guests something they weren't expecting. But I didn't care I love her. The best man was a woman which some people specifically my relatives or some of them just couldn't understand. They just couldn't understand that she is his best friend and that no we weren't just picking a guy because traditionally it is a guy. And one of my bridesmaids was a guy and I called him my bridesman. Which if anyone reading this is planning a wedding you really really need to have a bridesman. He was a lifesaver and I wouldn't have done it any other way.

My aunt gave my wedding coordinator a hard time having to have her room changed at least 5 times because it didn't meet HER standards. By the way there was nothing wrong with it. Then I found out she made some rather disturbing racist comments. That totally shocked me, embarrassed me and I am still pissed at her for it.

My other aunt and uncle brought their grandchildren who weren't invited and only told me the night before which made me have to change around the seating chart and it just was not right.

My grandmother refused to have her picture taken with me. The picture of the woman in black with me in my previous post is the only picture I got with her with me and she could hardly pull off a smile. She was actually refusing to come down for dinner until my two uncles when to get her. First they talked to my dad and my dad was like NO I am not going to get her if she can't come down then she won't eat this is my daughters day not hers. She did eventually come down.

My aunt and uncle who brought the grandkids were actually late for the wedding. So much so that they arrived AFTER the ceremony. They told me the invite said 4pm and I told them to look at it again the invite clearly states 330 and even if it did say 4 they were still late. The arrived in jeans and t shirts. I was soooo not happy. It was a relatively small wedding with 78 people in attendance and I only invited a few people from my wedding and half of them caused problems.

Not to say that we had a wedding to get gifts but my racist aunt caused so many problems and I got a POT! and then my aunt and uncle who brought the grandkids and didn't tell me at first got me "a set of sheets" both of them are high professionals. I would rather have gotten nothing then have gotten something that wasn't even from the heart. I have had other people who had no money on a limited budget and I got something that meant something. It wasn't about the price or the cost or how much money we got. But it just wasnt' given with love and I was insulted by what lack of love my family bestowed upon me.

Anyways when I get the professional pics I will definately share.

Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland