2005-08-29 - 10:53 a.m.

-
Today I am exhausted.... If I look at one more tomato I will kill someone.

Yesturday we went to THE INLAW'S place. It was planned that we would help stew tomatoes. You see THE DAD has this huge garden and has hundreds of tomato plants. If anyone knows anything about tomato plants then you know one plant can produce 100 tomatoes. Ok well not quite but it feels that way. Anyways we had a trailer full of tomatoes that we picked at 0930 yesturday. It took us about 4 hours to blanch...peel, and chop tomatoes. Then we started stewing them. We had two HUGE pots on the stove...An even bigger pot on the big Burner hooked up to a propane tank. This pot is an industrial size restaurant pot. then we had a pot on the BBQ or I should say several pots on the bbq at different times and several pots on the stove. Then we had to wait for the tomatoes to cool enough so we could bag. We didn't jar the tomatoes we put them in freezer glad zip lock bags. Then they can lay flat in the freezer. We bagged over 80 bags of tomatoes. This makes for a good base for spaghetti sauce or chilli even soups. The tomatoes were seasoned with green peppers and fresh basil also from the garden. Anyways it was a lot of work and well I lost part of my finger nail. I got a little carried away with the chopping and sliced off a good chunk of my nail. I can definately say it hurts.

Needless to say we slept well last night. We left THE INLAW's with one pot not bagged but it was getting late and we couldnt wait any longer for the tomatoes to cool.

Yesterday ||Tomorrow



Navigation
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book
Links and Stuff
Pre-Op Pics At My Heaviest
Immediately Before/After Surgery
Christmas Pics 95 LBS Later
New Years Eve Pics 97 LBS Later
May 20/2006 122 LBS Later
Credits
template by: Bitch & Moan
Hosted by:Diaryland